Sunday, June 26, 2011

Major and Minor Pentatonic Scales

Here are the major and minor pentatonic scales along with their modes.  In reference to the major scale we can think of these five tone scales as:

Major Pentatonic  =  R, 2, 3, 5, 6

Minor Pentatonic  =  R, b3, 4, 5, b7

also take notice that they are the same patterns, its just what you call the root that determines which pattern you are using.

No comments:

Post a Comment